SEARCH
MORE
Upland/Small Game

Pheasant 2020

4/29/20 @ 11:28 AM
INITIAL POST
Pool8
User since 1/27/17

The DNR will be reducing the pheasant stocking from 75000 to 50000 because of covid 19. Also no day old chick program this year. 

I read this in the latest WON paper.

Displaying 16 to 30 of 36 posts
12/7/20 @ 1:22 PM
Casedog
Casedog
User since 10/4/11

I’m new to pheasant hunting and I hunted Tichigan twice(no birds) than finished my year at bong(lots of birds) last year and loved it! 

Now bong stopped stocking on november 29th for some reason?? Last year they stocked through december 21 and it was a great year! Anyone in the know on here??? 

Luckily my dog is really good and she flushed 8 birds and I was able to get 3 of them this weekend so there are a few birds left but Im afraid most of the birds will be gone by next weekend?? 

What are all you guys doing for the next month to get your pheasant hunting itch??

I guess i’m just confused why they stopped stocking birds so early this year and do you think there will be enough birds to hunt the last three weeks of season?? I’m not afraid to hunt hard as long as there is a few birds left???

Sorry for long post but I was pretty bummed out there done stocking for the year! 

11/26/20 @ 11:56 AM
rpole
rpole
User since 6/18/01

I drove by when they were burning, the smoke was unreal, as were the flames in some areas.   turned around and hunted off Wilton, the smoke wasn't hitting there.  didn't see a bird and when I got back into the truck it still smelt like smoke.

speaking of Wilton, this is a longshot but did anyone lose anything out there?  article of clothing so to speak.   if so, let me know, if described correctly, I'll get it back to you.

11/21/20 @ 10:36 PM
Bdub
User since 5/19/10

Nice rooster buddy. ThTs a mutant strand, released by one of the game farms. 

Lily yes they burned kettle 2.5 weeks ago. It was intentional. While it stinks during pheasant season, it’s the best time to clean up the fields