MORE
General Hunting Discussion

Tractor

7/29/18 @ 8:32 AM
INITIAL POST
WelderGuy
WelderGuy
User since 12/19/10

Looking for advice on a small tractor. I currently plant just under 2 acres in food plots using my ATV and kind of struggle doing so. I’ve always thought of getting a tractor but have never really looked into it. I came across an Allis Chalmers CA tractor that someone had for sale in their yard, I knocked but nobody was home so I didn’t get to talk about specifics. The tractor looked to be in very good shape, new paint and decals, brand new rear tires and I noticed the alternator was brand new as well. They were asking $3,300. I have zero experience with tractors so looking to see what others have to say. Is that a good price, assuming it runs and drives good? Will I be able to find parts or someone to do repairs if need be? It does have a PTO so that could be useful as well maybe for a mower or tiller? I think I would get some sort of harrow to pull for tilling ground for food plot prep, will this have enough power for that? I look forward to hearing any advice anyone has to offer, thanks!

Displaying 1 to 9 of 9 posts
8/17/18 @ 11:29 AM
Thump55
User since 7/19/04

8N's are handy, but don't go slow enough to be a good tilling tractor. Not saying you can't, but tough to do especially on new ground. You don't see tillers on 8's very often.

Fine for pulling/cutting though.

I use a 36" tow behind DR Power tiller behind lawn tractor for tilling and it works pretty good.

8/5/18 @ 5:21 PM
WelderGuy
WelderGuy
User since 12/19/10

I held off on the original tractor I came across and did more shopping around. I ended up buying a Ford 8N for a much better deal. It had brand new rear tires, new gas tank, new belts, it was converted to 12V and also came with a 3pt harrow attachment all for $1800. The guy even offered to deliver it to my place which was about 2hrs away from where I purchased it for $100. 

8/2/18 @ 2:15 PM
Mr.Bass1984
Mr.Bass1984