SEARCH
MORE
Fishing Equipment

Sharpening hooks

2/21/18 @ 8:41 AM
INITIAL POST
fishinnutinwis
User since 12/26/01

Whats the best method for sharpening - touching up hooks ... small file / stone or a sharpening device ?? mainly larger salmon sized trebles and singles .. 

Displaying 1 to 12 of 12 posts
3/9/18 @ 11:15 AM
Zwiegs
User since 1/10/12

Larger Trebles, hit em with a stone.  Smaller hooks, just tie on a new one.

3/3/18 @ 7:56 PM
denesox
denesox
User since 2/1/06

I have been using a sharpening stone for 30+ years.   Its simple and like mentioned below, I have several, in several locations.

Yes, a sharpened hook can rust a little over time, but that is a simple fiix, just hit it with the stone and the sharpness is restored quickly and easily.

Works for all hooks aside from Owner, which have a special cutting tip, these are only hooks I throw out when they get dull or the tip gets rolled...but owners are pretty tough hooks for the most part...and they happen to make the best drop shot hook on the planet.

A sharpening stone is an invaluable tool IMO.

3/3/18 @ 6:21 PM
muskie nut
muskie nut
User since 6/26/01

That yellow handle file is made by Luhr Jensen.  Thats all I use for my muskie lures.  Couple of strokes to the underside and a couple over the top to take the burr off from the underside strokes.

2/22/18 @ 1:45 PM
BugleTrout
BugleTrout
User since 9/27/01

That's a perfect description of the sharpener I posted.  Two chainsaw files sitting side by side.  Works awesome.

BM12.  I've had hooks rust but I can't say that I see it more frequently with sharpened hooks.  Jighead hooks rust a lot but I usually go through those fast enough that it isn't a major issue.

2/22/18 @ 12:40 PM
JamesD
JamesD
PRO MEMBER User since 2/16/04