MORE
Fishing Equipment

Braided Line (Superline)

3/13/17 @ 3:40 PM
INITIAL POST
Mad Mike
User since 5/8/03

Hello,

I have never used braided line (superline) before and was thinking about giving it a try this year. I was going to use braid with a fluorocarbon leader. When I was looking at different superlines at the store I noticed that most were sold in 125yd packages. Since most medium to heavy action spinning reels hold much more than that, how are you supposed to line your spools with braid if they don’t give you enough? Do you have to back all of your spools with mono? So your reels would all be mono, then braid, then fluorocarbon? Seems kind of ridiculous?

Any suggestions? How do you guys do it?  Any recommendations on brands for braid or fluorocarbon leaders?  

Thanks,

Mike

Displaying 1 to 15 of 21 posts
10/26/17 @ 8:35 AM
RandyPrice
RandyPrice
User since 9/25/17

I really liked smeylink's comments.  I too have been very happy with Power Pro.  I use it on my Musky/Pike rigs and haven't changed the line out in years.  Great stuff!

10/25/17 @ 1:39 PM
Snorkel
Snorkel
User since 7/30/16

I get 1024 yards of KastKing braid and just fill up the whole spool and then

use a flourocarbon leader for jigging.

The kastking braid is good and it's a 4 strand so it's a bit noisy on guides line rollers etc, but it casts a country mile.  I think I paid about 34 dollars for over 1000 yards.

Other wise you can just put some heavy mono as a backing if you don't want to get more than 150 yards of braid at a time.

A decent priced 8 strand braid is the Daiwa J Braid and that comes in 165 yard spools.  I think I paid 11 dollars for 15lb from amazon.

10/20/17 @ 10:00 AM
smeylink
User since 2/3/08

I like braided lines for fishing, but some are hybrid set-ups with FL or Mono leaders.