SEARCH
MORE
Archery

What length of bolt for my crossbow?

10/21/18 @ 5:00 PM
INITIAL POST
Insywinsy spider
User since 3/4/03

I'm new to using a crossbow and just bought a Wicked Ridge Invader X4. It was supposed to come with 3 aluminum bolts, but it didn't. Thought I would their length. The manual recommends 20 and 22 inch bolts. Is this just based on preference. 20's I imagine are lighter and quicker? 22's a bit heavier but better penetration? Going to buy some carbon ones tomorrow. Also, are mechanical broadheads different for crossbows, or any broadhead will work?

Displaying 1 to 8 of 8 posts
10/30/18 @ 11:40 PM
alexdozon
alexdozon
User since 9/26/18

I have always used 20" aluminum bolts with a scope. What's your draw length? 20 or 22 will both work well. But for you can't say anything without knowing whether you use scopes.

10/23/18 @ 4:26 PM
alcrumpler
User since 7/19/09
I shoot horton bone collector 22" shwacker 2 1/4 i hunt 10acres only had 2 make it  past property line. Not sure if you shoot scope or not if so id look into recommendations for the scope also 
10/23/18 @ 1:32 PM
Topwater Twich
User since 10/6/08

I also agree with the 20" length carbon just make sure the nock is correct for your bow. With the speed your xbow shoots, I would personally use the specialized mechanical broad heads designed to not pre-maturely open due to fast velocities created. I once watched a youtube video and 5 out of 6 "crossbow" broad heads would open before hitting the target. Swhacker or nothing for me.

10/22/18 @ 9:02 PM
yamatroller
User since 5/7/06

I use 20" aluminum bolts with my Wicked Ridge with the new Spitfire 4 blade mechanical broadhead. A very deadly combination!!

10/21/18 @ 7:44 PM
tiddies1981
tiddies1981
User since 1/22/15

What's your draw lenght?

10/21/18 @ 5:34 PM
buckmaster68
User since 3/9/15