MORE
Wisconsin Fishing Discussion

How to Teach a Total Newbie

5/23/20 @ 7:36 PM
INITIAL POST
262 Fishing
262 Fishing
User since 8/10/18

With the free-fishing weekend coming up, I plan on taking a few people out who have never been fishing before.  Focusing on adults since kids can fish without a license anyway.  I know what works for me, but I'm looking for suggestions how how to teach somebody who is starting from the very beginning.

I don't really plan on actually fishing myself since my attention will be getting them on fish.  I might throw a lure out here and there, but if I get hooked up, I'll pass the rod to them.  I figure a spinning reel with a Mepp's style lure that doesn't take much thought or effort would be a good place to start.

Help me teach others!

Displaying 1 to 15 of 15 posts
7/14/20 @ 12:35 PM
262 Fishing
262 Fishing
User since 8/10/18

Thanks for everybody's tips on this.  After many scheduling changes, my friend finally made it out for her first time fishing.  Started with bobbers and worms on the outside weed line.  After she got comfortable casting, I threw on a senko for her and she caught the big fish of the day!  She said she had fun and that she would do it again.

The video will be out in a few weeks.

6/26/20 @ 6:58 PM
262 Fishing
262 Fishing
User since 8/10/18

Go figure, life got in the way of fishing and we didn't make it out that weekend. We'll be rescheduling soon and I'll pay for her licence (I think their first license is only $5 for residents).

I recently did a video talking about beginner setups and highlighted Mepp's because that's what I grew up with, so that will definitely be ready to go as an option.

6/26/20 @ 5:30 PM
jaybeeturtle
User since 3/17/06