SEARCH
MORE
Wisconsin Fishing Discussion

Bulrushes killed by Milfoil

5/27/20 @ 7:39 PM
INITIAL POST
utahman
User since 3/9/03

Family property since 1924 on private lake. I have been there the last 50. In the last 3 years we have a lot of strange weeds and all the bulrushes are gone. Used to be able to get bass in  vast  beds of them. Now all the fishings gone to nothing no bass cant even get a northern. It sucks because there are only 8 landowners and most of us dont go anywhere else with boats, but some of them rent out and people bring jet skis and  other things. Has any one out there have that happen on your lake.

Displaying 1 to 15 of 16 posts
7/4/20 @ 4:37 PM
wini
User since 3/27/06

I have been fishing a lake in Canada for 20 years. All the great weed beds are down to 10-20% of the size they were 20 years ago. Flyin lake.  What is going on???

7/4/20 @ 8:29 AM
utahman
User since 3/9/03

Thanks for the input and messages. We are getting closer to the point where we know who to contact.  I just found the AIS coordinator number.I hope he will help with a private lake. I know back in the day  the campground owner kept a launch open for the public so the DNR would stock the lake from time to time, but now they wont because that is gone. No one really takes their boats to other lakes, most of us have our own launch or just have small boats that you put in by hand. There are no input streams however there is an outlet stream that flows into a creek that empties into a 1000 acre lake with public access. From recent fishing reports on that lake it sounds like the panfish population is way down there. If there is something goofy going on I hope that the fact that our water runs into public lakes would good grounds for helping figure this out since it would affect Big Sand,Upper Holly,Whitefish ,Lac Courte Oreilles, and down

7/3/20 @ 2:36 PM
nihsif
nihsif
PRO MEMBER User since 6/15/01