MORE
Waterfowl Hunting

Marinette County Duck Hunting

9/10/16 @ 10:08 PM
INITIAL POST
Rods of Fury
Rods of Fury
User since 3/15/12

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to the waterfowl scene and I'm looking for a little info about scouting/finding new bodies of water to hunt. I found a small shallow marshy lake in Marinette County that I'm pretty sure nobody hunts, but I'm not sure what the duck population is like up there, or if this body of water in particular attracts many birds. I stopped there today and blew the mallard call a little bit and I got a response from one duck, and there was also a few Sandhill cranes out there. Is that a good sign? Or what else should I look for in a body of water? Thanks for any info and good luck this season!

Displaying 1 to 7 of 7 posts
9/26/16 @ 12:23 PM
CBR01
User since 10/14/14

Hunted some small beaver ponds that had plenty of ducks on labor day. Only got 3 wood ducks for 2 guys. Everything left Saturday morning never came back. Barely saw anything Sunday.

9/18/16 @ 11:22 AM
diver hunter 1987
User since 9/29/09