LOGIN
Lake-Link

Trolling Rods For Walleyes

7/12/16 @ 6:43 AM
ORIGNAL POST
eyewalls
eyewalls
User since 6/25/04

What do you use to troll for Walleyes on Green Bay as far a  rod/reel combos go?     I have a few  set ups I use for Salmon fishing off the Piers, Bigger rods with Spinning reels, and was wondering if these would work for trolling also.    Or do I need to spend the money, which I don't really have, on new rod and reels for trolling?   Like the Baitcasters I see most people use.    I'm just getting into this trolling for walleyes and already spent quite a bit on the rod holders, planer boards, tackle, etc.    Wife isn't real thrilled.   lol.   Any suggestions would be appreciated.   Thanks.......

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 15 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
12/23/16 @ 5:44 PM
WalleyeLouie
WalleyeLouie
User since 9/11/16

Only one rod in my book and that is simple.St Croix are simply the best and made in Wi.

12/18/16 @ 11:01 PM
Ice Junky
Ice Junky
User since 8/21/09

New to trolling this year I picked up some Cabelas 8.5 foot telescoping "planner board" rods with Depthmaster II reels on sale for $59.99.  I like the rods themselves a lot for a cheap rod.  The reel drags suck and sometimes you have to pull back on the spool with your thumb to release pressure so the spool release lever will release but I knew this going in after reading reviews prior to purchase. I plan on upgrading the reels but for now they do the job.  Cabelas has several of these combos where the rod is rated for different applications.  Look at the info on the rod to make sure you are getting the right combo for your needs.

11/14/16 @ 2:03 PM
Tim Zwieg
User since 1/10/12