SEARCH
MORE
Walleye Fishing

How Do You use Willowcats

6/1/21 @ 7:18 PM
INITIAL POST
mnvikings
User since 10/6/14

I've been using willowcats for 2 years . I catch some eyes but I'm not good with them .Can you educate me ? I use egg sinker or bottom bouncer . A lot of the time I see the willowcat upside down or twirling . To me this isn't natural or good . Also I lose a lot of willowcats to snags . I don't like that because of their price . Sure would appreciate help on how to fish them . Thanks 

Displaying 1 to 15 of 15 posts
7/19/21 @ 8:40 PM
Pool8
User since 1/27/17

Mnvikings,  I finally had a chance to stop at Captain Hooks in Genoa and asked about the willow cat tubes.

Unfortunately they are out and had bought out the fellow that had made them. So they won't be getting any more of them. Sorry.

6/17/21 @ 6:31 AM
mnvikings
User since 10/6/14

Great ! Thanks 

6/16/21 @ 10:13 PM
Pool8
User since 1/27/17

Was brought up using a three way rig by rocks and holes. 

Been a long time since I've tried them. We used to trap them by our place when I was a kid for my uncle. 

I thought I read that there's a tube that they sell at captain hooks in Genoa so you don't get stung, I'll stop in there in a week or so and ask.

6/16/21 @ 4:54 AM
mnvikings
User since 10/6/14

Very useful information ! Thanks .  Yesterday I didn't do well on wingdams but marked fish on a rocky flat. I stopped over them and had many bites . They were small saugers and I had trouble hooking up with them but I'm slowly catching on I think . Willowcat fishing it seems to me is finesse fishing. I'm anxious to try again today. --Two ways I tried with no success was drifting along closing dams trying to stay under .5 mph  and jigging . Seems to me that should work but not yesterday. Have you guys tried those ways and had any luck ?? One thing for certain , spinners with crawlers are working great right now. If the River doesn't get messed up with flooding or weeds, Fall fishing should be great.