MENU Lake-Link.com MORE

Do northerns eat a lot of walleye?

5/2/19 @ 12:44 PM
ORIGINAL POST
nemab-man
nemab-man
USER since 7/5/11

Do northerns eat a lot walleye and if so, would it be a good idea to remove larger northern pike (over 30") from certain lakes to improve walleye populations?

Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 15 Posts
6/1/19 @ 9:31 PM
Carpio
Carpio
MEMBER since 11/5/17

Jc. I studied Limnology of and on for a couple of years. What you have posted is a very accurate, thoughtful posting, especially with the mention of septic systems.   CARPIO 

Edited on 6/1/19 9:33 PM
Post Your Comment
5/20/19 @ 1:15 PM
nemab-man
nemab-man
USER since 7/5/11

JC Wisconsin, I used to catch a lot of small perch for bait on the lake I live near, but they are gone. Not just fewer of them, the flat I used to fish for bait is almost completely void of perch. 

It probably has something to do with the zebra mussels filtering out the perch fry's food, it may have something to do with increased populations of pike, both northern and walleye. But, I would think the perch and walleye fry both eat the same zooplankton so I really don't know. 

Post Your Comment
5/20/19 @ 9:58 AM
JC-Wisconsin
JC-Wisconsin
USER since 4/1/05