Lake-Link Home
LOGIN
Lake-Link

Grouse Reports ! ! !

9/12/03 @ 11:53 AM
ORIGINAL POST
150class
User since 8/24/01
Let us know where youre finding the birds, what were the conditions, what type of terrain.

Lets here some good dog stories as well.

Can we attach pictures in this forum now?

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 2,263 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
9/21/20 @ 1:15 PM
Dave5555
User since 5/13/14

Minnesota also has an interesting report - Apparently in years past, they had a good correlation between spring drumming counts, and that fall's hunting success as reported by hunters. In recent years, that correlation doesn't seem to work anymore - leading them to suspect that young grouse are not making it though the summer. Could be a few things, but as Brule100 stated, young grouse apparently don't do well with the virus - obviously some adults survive it based on the DNR's data. I've been hunting Iron county for many years - I'm seeing a few birds, but none that are clearly this years brood. Worries me....

9/21/20 @ 10:06 AM
Chuckdog
User since 9/21/20

Bernzy16 , I like that you noted about West Nile, but don't forget that grouse also can contract EEE (Eastern Equine Encephalitis). I took a grouse back in 2018 in Oneida county with a small breast. The bird was submitted to the DNR and confirmed to have EEE.

9/20/20 @ 7:13 PM
Pool8
User since 1/27/17

Just got back from the iron river mi.  area. Flushed a good number of birds , still a lot of leaves on the trees . Seems like good numbers. 

9/20/20 @ 7:18 AM
Kayaker 8
User since 8/28/20
Friday, hunted a public area in Outagamie Co that I have not visited in a number of years.  Flushed 3 grouse where I have never seen them before.  The place was logged about 10 years ago and has grown up very thick.  Good to see them.  Well hear them in one case.

9/19/20 @ 5:13 PM
grizwald
grizwald
User since 2/6/09

Lickey

Live in the Hayward area. Been seeing good numbers of grouse in areas I have been walking. Old logging trails.