Lake-Link Home
LOGIN
Lake-Link

Grouse Reports ! ! !

9/12/03 @ 11:53 AM
ORIGINAL POST
150class
User since 8/24/01
Let us know where youre finding the birds, what were the conditions, what type of terrain.

Lets here some good dog stories as well.

Can we attach pictures in this forum now?

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 2,258 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
TODAY @ 11:47 AM
Bernzy16
User since 2/22/04

Been seeing plenty of birds in Price County. Never really had a really bad year up here. 1999 was the BEST year ever, and I haven't had a year like that since but always decent-excellent. I've been hunting the same public land for 20 years now, and over that time I've seen habitat and stands of timber age out of being good grouse habitat. Have to adjust accordingly and find other logging activity. A few birds I've shot had signs of WN (little breast meat, emaciated looking) which is unfortunate, but not bad enough to stop hunting or blame it for no birds. Put the miles in, beat some brush, and go get em! Over that time I've also been busting more and more woodcock too which is great to see. 

TODAY @ 10:36 AM
Lickey
Lickey
User since 8/29/12

Heading up to hunt in the Black River State Forest next week and then up to Rusk and Sawyer county area the weekend after. Anyone have any reports from these areas?

Thanks,

Lickey

9/17/20 @ 10:24 PM
Brule100
User since 3/6/18

Search PA.gov for the study on WNV in ruffed grouse populations.  There is the scientific data in a pdf. 

9/17/20 @ 9:02 AM
Hunter&Hound
User since 7/24/01

Brule - Can you show me where you got that information in regards to WNV?

9/16/20 @ 10:41 PM
Brule100
User since 3/6/18