Lake-Link Home
LOGIN
Lake-Link

Calling to Turkeys on the Roost

5/19/14 @ 12:24 PM
ORIGINAL POST
prusta81
User since 1/19/09
I'm new to turkey hunting and looking for advice. This past Saturday morning I got setup in my ground blind with a hen and jake decoy out. I was settled in a little after 4:00 AM. I had a hen in the roost about 75 yards from me and she was making a great deal of tree clucks/yelps for about 20-30 minutes before light. There were 4 different gobblers in different directions ranging from about 100-150 yards that were gobbling to her.

My question is, what kind of calling or techniques, do you find to be the most effective when you have birds roosted relatively close to your setup that are very actively communicating to each other?

Thanks in advance for any advice! Adam

DISPLAYING 1 TO 8 OF 8 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
4/15/15 @ 5:43 AM
yelptom
yelptom
User since 4/12/15
Hopefully the birds are dispersed from the winter flock and more vounerable to calling this weekend compared to last weekend

4/14/15 @ 1:20 PM
1cast-away
User since 2/2/09
Morning hunts can be frustrating...I only call until I know he is answering me and not just randomly gobbling. I usually won't call after that until I think he's on the ground. Your not going to call him out of the tree any faster than when he is good and ready to (in my opinion). If he answers , he knows where you are.

4/14/15 @ 7:02 AM
yelptom
yelptom
User since 4/12/15
I never have any luck at tree calling in early morning... I've had them gobbling like crazy but they seem to still go where want to....8be heard that the girls get jelous and lead the tom away? Wonder if it's best to not tree call or any call till flydown? At least early season anyway

5/21/14 @ 4:15 PM
Jackal
Jackal
User since 5/19/05