SEARCH
MORE
Musky Fishing

Musky Trolling Rod Holders

10/12/19 @ 8:57 AM
INITIAL POST
Merrimic91
User since 6/25/07

I am just setting up my boat for musky trolling. I'm installing a Traxstech track system and need rod holders. What are your suggestions?

Displaying 1 to 12 of 12 posts
2/1/20 @ 11:58 AM
BigShow0003
PRO MEMBER User since 7/28/09
I've been using Folbe's for a few years now. Started with Salty's, but wasn't impressed. So I switched to Folbe and have had good success since. 

They have a locking peg/nut for down rods which has worked well for me too. 

1/17/20 @ 5:54 PM
NPike_Guy
NPike_Guy
User since 8/25/08

Scotty power locks for boards down east salties for down rods. Never had a problem. However if I were going to be trolling almost exclusively I would probably upgrade to a traxtech system for my boards as well.

1/17/20 @ 10:17 AM
Coach Rob
Coach Rob
User since 1/6/09

How many lines do you plan to run. Up to 6, the rod holders mentioned are fine. 

I used to run Down East Salty. They are great rod holders, you need extra parts to run them in a track system. Google the setup and you see what I mean. I would not trust Scotty or Ram with Musky. The speed you are trolling (3.5 ave, 5.5 is common) puts much more stress on the rod holders than other types of fishing.

I fish Lake Michigan (Salmon) and Green Bay (Musky), often with 2-3 others in the boat. 

Since you are running a track system, consider a rod tree. I went to trees to get more lines out. I much prefer them to gunnel mounted.

If you are fishing big water when it is rough, keeping the lines high helps quite a bit. Boards will often dive in rough water with the low mounted rob holders.

I can cleanly run 10 lines in a Lund 1675, 8 on the trees, 2 down rods.  I am maxed at 6 with gunnel mount. If I run more they get into each other too often.

1/15/20 @ 9:30 AM
vegas492
vegas492
User since 5/21/03