SEARCH
MORE
Illinois Hunting Reports/Discussion

Where to start in the world of hunting?

8/22/15 @ 4:48 PM
INITIAL POST
Fjd23
User since 3/11/15
I am looking for advice on how to begin a future of hunting excitement. I am a 37 year old Army Vet,(4th Infantry Division Ivy League Hooh Rahh) who enjoys most all activities outdoors. Over the last few years I have been bitten by the fishing bug and now am looking to expand into the world of hunting. Waterfowl, turkey, and deer. I am proficient in handguns, I am a NRA Pistol Instructor,and rifles but am very new to shotguns. I am looking to learn the fundamentals of hunting and would appreciate any advice from knowledgeable, safety minded and conscientious hunters. I have also considered bow hunting vs firearm but once again I am very limited on knowledge when it comes to the pros and cons of each. Any advice or help you can give me would be greatly appreciated. As I stated earlier I am a competent and qualified instructor for handguns who also instructs for the Illinois State Police's conceal carry program. I would be willing to share knowledge or training if someone is interested. Frank
Displaying 1 to 3 of 3 posts
9/10/15 @ 2:04 PM
P'TownPig194
User since 1/9/04
First off, thanks for your service. Now, how much money do you have to invest in hunting? Ive had the waterfowl bug since I was standing on a milk crate to see out of the blind. 40+ years later Im still like a kid at Xmas before a hunt. Waterfowl will require calls, decoys, possibly a boat, maybe a private land lease, a layout blind etc. I dont deer hunt, and only chase pheasants a couple times a year. Post up where you live and maybe someone would be willing to let you tag along to see what you would be getting into.
9/9/15 @ 3:14 PM
Luke V
Luke V
User since 2/3/11