Lake-Link Home
LOGIN
Lake-Link

Tip up Set Up

1/6/19 @ 9:31 AM
ORIGNAL POST
Farcast2
MEMBER since 8/28/09

I'm still relatively new to ice fishing and trying to improve my success with tip ups for northerns and walleyes. Is there a rule of thumb for how far off the bottom I should set my tip ups?

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 17 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
1/7/19 @ 5:45 PM
grizwald
grizwald
User since 2/6/09

Farcast2- Tip up depth setting can be anywhere in the water column depending on depth and structure. There is a few lakes that I fish minnows right under the ice in weeds up to 10 feet. There is lakes were your with in a foot of the bottom in 15 to 25 foot range. There is also a lake I fish in 35+ fow but have bait 10 to 15 feet off the bottom close to structure. Without knowing the depths and structure is hard to know what your after. Once I was jigging in that 35+ fow catching small wall eyes on bottom. Watching the fish come up down the hole could see large fish taking swipe at it. Even close to the hole this large walleye grabbed that smaller one. So it is possible anywhere in the water column.  

1/7/19 @ 2:41 PM
jaybeeturtle
User since 3/17/06

I agree, Herb. Very important to mark those good spots with gps. Can be 100 ft away and no flags

1/7/19 @ 2:21 PM
Herb2
User since 12/28/18

Ulbian I agree you have to move all the time--each day is different. The  high def mapping tells you where to move. A 6" change some days makes the location work. The GPS mark from last time out helps you get back to the spot!

1/7/19 @ 2:06 PM
AWichman
AWichman
User since 1/6/16

They've pretty much covered everything you need to know about getting started. One thing to do is pay attention to what is and isn't working and don't let them sit there and freeze in for hours on end. You wouldn't cast a bobber out and let it sit in the same dead spot forever, so why neglect a tip up?