Lake-Link Home
LOGIN
Lake-Link

Painting a ice auger

3/24/17 @ 3:14 PM
ORIGNAL POST
3gulp
User since 2/15/09

Anybody have good luck with a black paint to paint a ice auger that has lost a lot of paint. If so what kind and did you sand ect

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 13 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
7/31/20 @ 9:51 PM
fishydog
User since 8/24/01

Chrome it!

7/30/20 @ 12:26 AM
albertbill21
User since 2/11/18

There are additionally numerous pneumatic models and air-helped paint sprayers for the individuals who favor this kind of machine or think that its increasingly handy for the specific needs of their activity.. If you have a limited budget, you can choose a best paint sprayer for cabinets and walls having tips. 

12/8/17 @ 10:27 PM
BAK922
User since 11/19/14

As a painter I'll second the DTM. You can get a quart pretty cheap. Also check out the Preval sprayer for it, small air canister sprayer.  Either way make sure to sand and wire brush the heck out ok it.

12/6/17 @ 11:09 AM
Tim Zwieg
User since 1/10/12

Good idea Bull Gill, like the carpenter that paints his hammer

12/6/17 @ 5:04 AM
Master_Piker
Master_Piker
User since 12/7/05

I brushed mine down two years ago with a wire brush in my drill and then painted it with two coats of Rust-oleum Professional gloss black spray paint. I was leery of using spray vs. brush on, but it went on even and has held up very well. Wire brush cost about $2.00 and a can of that paint runs about $6.00 IIRC. Whole project from start to finish took about 2 hours on a rainy afternoon. My auger looks great, the ice doesn't build on the flites and the sun melts off what ice does form. Powder coating may last a little longer, but will also cost about 10 times as much to have done, and in my opinion is not cost effective.

11/26/17 @ 12:55 PM
Bull Gill
User since 2/7/02