SEARCH
MORE
Ice Fishing

Need Recommendation for tip-up sensor

1/21/21 @ 10:08 AM
INITIAL POST
mooselegs
User since 5/27/03

I'm a real novice when it comes to ice fishing. Wife and I rented a cabin in the north woods and I plan to do a bit of ice fishing.....some with tip-ups. The lake will be close to the cabin so I'd like to place a couple of tip-ups nearby. I'm looking for recommendations for a sensor that'll send a signal when the flag goes up.

About 10 years ago I received a STRIKE SENSOR as a gift but never used it. I only have one and would like to get two more of some kind. Don't know if there are other, better., etc. ones out there. 

Would appreciate suggestions/recommendations.

Thanks!

Displaying 1 to 11 of 11 posts
1/27/21 @ 10:39 PM
jwog666
jwog666
User since 7/30/10

Junkie, the vultures don't use your phone, they have their own pendant remote. The other sensors use Bluetooth, and the range on Bluetooth isn't very good. The vultures have a 1 mile range, and while you aren't going to set up a line 1 mile away, you will be able to always have good reception through ice shack walls  cabin walls  etc. They are worth every penny.

1/27/21 @ 8:10 AM
Junkie4Ice
Junkie4Ice
User since 12/19/11

Will the vulture system send a notification to your phone or do you have to use the handheld remote that they sell? Those are a pretty penny, but as my kids get older I feel like something like that would pay for itself in convenience. Not to mention I can't count how many small tip up lights at $10-20 a piece I've gone through over the years that either break or I lose in my irresponsible packing up after a long day of fishing. Is it something that could be used with the pole/reel set ups (ifish pro, finicky fooler, etc) or are they exclusive to tip ups?

1/26/21 @ 10:15 PM
kingbass
User since 12/21/01

Love my Vultures

1/22/21 @ 12:51 PM
jwog666
jwog666
User since 7/30/10