Ice Fishing

How to catch a crappie

12/6/21 @ 7:49 PM
INITIAL POST
Bassmaster+recordracks 2
Bassmaster+recordracks 2
PRO MEMBER User since 7/24/20

Greetings all,

I am new to ice fishing. Does anyone have advice on how to catch a nice crappie on the ice?

Displaying 1 to 15 of 18 posts
1/15/22 @ 2:51 PM
JPitzen42
PRO MEMBER User since 1/8/20

Hey Bassmaster, where were you fishing that you kept 7 northern pike?  Especially keeping hammer handles.  Those need to go back in the hole and get bigger!

1/13/22 @ 9:11 AM
hockeyguy39
User since 8/24/07

Nice job! They're not HUGE, but those look to be perfect keeper size. Good sized gill too!

Hoping to get my first fish through the ice tomorrow. 

1/12/22 @ 2:49 PM
Get.the.net
User since 12/30/13

couple nice crappies there Bass...... are you sure youv'e never fished before? Looks like a nice meal or two of fish.

1/9/22 @ 11:37 PM
Bassmaster+recordracks 2
Bassmaster+recordracks 2
PRO MEMBER User since 7/24/20

Are these big? We would of got a bunch more but those long snake like fish kept biting. They brought very old beer for us drink. Brand was awful also. 

How to catch a crappie photo by Bassmaster+recordracks 2
How to catch a crappie photo by Bassmaster+recordracks 2
12/16/21 @ 8:02 AM
Alternative Reefer
User since 5/4/18

Get a live scope and catching crappies becomes childs play.  Seriously, hammered hundreds of them last year.  See a school coming in.  Drop into the school and slowly bring it out of the school and you get chasers.  I will admit it feels a little like cheating.

12/14/21 @ 2:48 PM
crappieguy
User since 2/11/02

as other have said, Tip Downs with a 14 or 16 treble and crappie minnows.   Drill an extra couple holes between 5 and 10 feet from your tip downs.   When you catch one on a tip down start jigging in the hole close to it.  Normally you can tell the direction that the school is moving by the direction of the tip down line.

If you are interested I sell tip downs