MENU
Lake-Link Home
LOGIN
Lake-Link

Should I try and improve my Remington 700 .243 or just by a different rifle.

3/11/21 @ 12:38 PM
ORIGINAL POST
mac da gaff
mac da gaff
MEMBER SINCE 9/23/01

I have a plain jane Rem 700 in .243 cal. I have a 6X18 Bushnell scope and can hold a 2.3" group at 100 yds. With 100 grain V-Max handloads avg. muzzle velocity of 2750 fps. I intend on checking the trigger pull to see if it is reasonable (3-4 lb.). It seems to be a little heavy but I am far from an expert.

There is an after market stock from Magpul they have solid reviews and seem to be a nice upgrade. I don't need a tack driver just a reliable shooter to 200 yds for Whitetail and Coyotes.

Where is my money best spent? Do I trade it in and add a couple hundred to it to get a better platform or spend $200-$300 to customize my present gun?

I appreciate your informed suggestions,

Mac

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 23 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS

5/16/21 @ 10:07 AM
Chukar
Chukar
USER SINCE 6/21/19

One other thing, Remington 700s usually come with 1 to 9.25" twist rifling. 

Any bullets below 85 grains usually don't perform well ,only one's that work for me are Barnes TSX solids.

ETA- @ MITYHUF

Quit yelling at us! ??

5/14/21 @ 9:49 PM
MITYHUF
USER SINCE 5/18/20

MAC, MAKE SURE NO WOOD IS EVER TOUCHING THE BARREL, ALL BOLTS ARE TORQUED CORRECTLY AND IT WILL SHOOT EXTREMELY ACCURATE WHEN YOU HIT THE AMMO IT PREFERS...........I PREDICT A SMALLER, FASTER BULLET.........DONT SPEND A NICKEL ON ANYTHING ELSE UNLESS YOU WANT TO............BARREL MUST FREE FLOAT....A PRESSURE POINT IS AN IDIOT POINT....I AM SHOCKED THAT REMINGTON PUTS A PRESSURE PT ON SOME RIFLES.........THATS LIKE FISHING HOOKS MADE OF PAPER, GUARANTEED FAILURE......

5/14/21 @ 9:37 PM
MITYHUF
USER SINCE 5/18/20

PS.........I HAVE DONE ZERO UPGRADES............THAT RIFLE IS PURE ACCURATE

5/14/21 @ 9:35 PM
MITYHUF
USER SINCE 5/18/20