MORE
Guns & Shooting

Reloading

11/18/21 @ 11:53 AM
INITIAL POST
hunterdog
User since 1/23/10

Good afternoon, 

I was wondering if anyone could give me some help/advise? I have been reloading for about 20 years and am having an issue with reloading my 270WSM. It seams that I’m doing something wrong because I keep cracking the neck once I’ve removed the primer and pull the de primer back threw the neck. It doesn’t always happen but at least half the time it does. Brass has been shot once amd then I’m reloading it. Any suggestions? 

Displaying 1 to 15 of 18 posts
12/5/22 @ 4:50 PM

that hand loading site that guy posted is a scam if you guys didnt figure it out

11/29/22 @ 7:31 PM
lunkbox
lunkbox
User since 7/24/01

I have a box of Winchester, 270 casings, 150 grain if anybody wants them for reloading. I’m just south of Fond du lac

10/2/22 @ 2:21 PM
Granpa
User since 2/4/05

I need the IMR 4831 for my 270 win. I use 4350 in my son's 7mm rem and had planned on using that for the 280 AI. 

9/30/22 @ 9:20 AM
Guidedfishing
User since 8/2/01

Grandpa, try here:  https://handloadingsupply.com/product/imr-4831-smokeless-powder-1-lb/

its out there but I have found IMR 4451, and Reloader 17 and 19 to run much better in my .280's  I prefer IMR4451, not temp sensitive like IMR4831.  Understand you are probably looking for something a tad slower if trying to feed a 280AI  both 17 & 19 I have found superior to 4831.  Caveat all rifles are different.  ;  )

Good luck

9/29/22 @ 3:24 PM
Granpa
User since 2/4/05

Anyone out there know where I can get some IMR 4831, or is anyone willing to part with some?

1/14/22 @ 9:40 AM
shootist7
PRO MEMBER User since 2/9/14

Try lubing the neck expander or maybe get a carbide neck expander. They also make different size neck expanders, try a couple thousands smaller. Also, try annealing the brass?

1/12/22 @ 8:06 AM
Shellfish
User since 7/19/03