Lake-Link Home
LOGIN
Lake-Link

Small boat, wind, and waves forecasts

6/30/18 @ 2:08 PM
ORIGNAL POST
Timotheus
User since 7/14/09

It is my first year out on the big lake this year, and basically I am looking to maximize my fishable days on the water - with absolutely putting safety first. With work and family (who are usually my crew - kids are just as hooked as I am I think!), I am limited on the number of days I can go. 

When a free day is approaching, I start watching weather reports and wave forecasts (near shore and open waters), however those have been less than accurate.  Father's day weekend for example, wave forecast was looking like 2 footers, which was very fishable previously, however when we got out and could barely stand only a little ways out (seemed bigger than 2 footers!), we turned around and went in.  For reference, the weather was much like this weekend, stronger south winds.  On the opposite side had my best day memorial day weekend in a north wind and 2 footers. Then days I passed on have had reports and buoy data that seemed good to fish in, but forecasts that were not to favorable.

My question in all this is how do other 'small boaters' determine if it is fishable and plan a go / no go?  Is there some type of wind speed and direction to watch for along w wave forecasts?  I know I don't have the experience, and error on the side of caution, but it seems I missing some wisdom in how it all ties together and looking for some guidence?   

EDIT: Am I asking the right questions about the right data?

For reference, I am in an Alumacraft Voyageur, 17'10 with fishable meaning I can stand up in the boat. I am almost equal distance between Racine and Bender, so those would be my 'home' ports.  The other MKE launches aren't much further though if that makes a difference.

Thanks for the help! 

DISPLAYING 1 TO 7 OF 7 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
7/1/18 @ 11:27 PM
Timotheus
User since 7/14/09

Great information!  Thank you both for the responses!