MORE
Great Lakes Fishing

Electric Downriggers

1/12/23 @ 10:49 AM
INITIAL POST
lakeshiner
lakeshiner
User since 7/20/09

I'm debating going from manual to electric downriggers.  I'm curious if people use an additional battery for them or do you just hookup to your main starting battery?  I can't really use my trolling motor batteries since that's not a 12 volt system.  I do run a kicker so it would be charging a little bit from that.

My other question is that I would stack lines on one rigger.  Is that easier to do with a slower retrieve vs a quick retrieve of the ball?  I saw quite a difference in speeds between Big Jon and Cannon for instance.  I was thinking I'd like it to be a little slower, but I have no experience with a downrigger that comes up very quickly either.

Displaying 1 to 12 of 12 posts
1/29/23 @ 8:55 AM
Shellfish
User since 7/19/03

I enjoy my electric Big Jon's.  They go up and down at a nice controlled speed.  Fast enough for me.  If I stack a rigger I always use the rigger opposite the kicker motor.  I feel like I should get the  extra line away from kicker motor propeller.

I have an 18.5 foot boat.  3 people is a nice number for room and number of baits for my fishing pattern.  3 people in Wisconsin allows for 3 baits per person or a total of 9 baits for trolling on lake Michigan.   I would normally run 2 riggers, 2 dipseys, 4 boards for a total of 8 baits.  I like symmetry and balance.  But...if fish are hitting riggers I will stack on 1 rigger for my max total of 9 baits for 3 people.  I never use sliders.  I want to know what depth I have my bait at.  With sliders, its just an approximate of the depth of your bait and a little more hassle when retrieving or resetting your pole.

1/16/23 @ 5:55 PM
lakeshiner
lakeshiner
User since 7/20/09