LOGIN
Lake-Link

Catch & Release Mortality

7/6/20 @ 5:55 PM
ORIGNAL POST
Team Lamboat
Team Lamboat
User since 8/14/11

At the fish cleaning station I was chastised for saying that I have been releasing the rainbows.  Two guys told me there were "dead fish, goners, no way they are gonna live, hooks ripped the gills too bad, etc".  I don't know... all but 1 seemed real happy to be back in the water and swam off down into the deep.  The one,  I saw the flash of his side as the boat moved away so it was struggling.... maybe didn't make it... maybe recovered, surface water was 61, which I think is fine for a rainbow.   I should mention, the 2 guys said they had lost 3 fish at the back of the boat, which by their own standards should be "dead fish" right?  I mostly fish with 4 lines and pull lines often when we have a fish on, so I haven't lost any at the net yet this year.  I've been fishing for 45 years and I don't waste fish or game.  If a fish is bleeding out of the gills, or showing no signs of life, I'm gonna eat it.  I have scooped up and ate quite a few fish flopping on the surface with flasher fly dragging behind them and broken line.  I've snagged "ghost lines" of copper and leadcore on my downrigger cables with fish attached.  I think I'm probably in the black on other peoples lost/wasted fish I've salvaged vs fish I've wasted in my lifetime.  I know others throw fish back as well and in about 1000 hours trolling out there, I haven't seen but 1 or 2 dead fish floating without hooks in them.  So I was hoping for some support on C & R for rainbows, browns, & lakers. I'm doing the right thing right?

DISPLAYING 1 TO 5 OF 5 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
7/7/20 @ 12:57 PM
migr8r
migr8r
User since 2/8/11