SEARCH
MORE
Great Lakes Fishing

Big Planer Board help

1/15/19 @ 2:31 PM
INITIAL POST
fishrepellant
User since 3/25/10

I've been trolling the big lake for a few years now and slowing upgrading as I go.  I currently have a set of dual planer (1" x 6" x 24") boards now, but they can barely handle 2-3 lines with snap weights.  I'm looking to build some new, more agressive ones, but in the hours of research, can't seem to find "the best" option.  Some of the questions I have are:

- 2 vs 3 board?

- why does 2 board desigen have staggered back and 3 have even back?

- 6", 8", 10" or 12" boards?  (does it matter if 2 or 3 planer design?)

- how much does the length determine the pull of the boards?

- why do 2 planer designs have adjustable spots for the eye bolt but the 3 planer designs don't?

- why do 2 board designs have rods in various locations, while 3 board design has rods located down the center of each board?

- why wouldn't everyone want to use the hardest pulling board?

- anyone have plans that I can use to make my new boards?

Thanks for any help.

~ Fishrepellant

Displaying 1 to 14 of 14 posts
10/25/20 @ 7:20 PM
Fish Hound
User since 1/29/02

Use Sams Pro releases and trip your boards. Don't fight the board, fight the fish.

10/25/20 @ 5:31 PM
Jimbo_
User since 10/10/20

Hey lucklou, 

How do you keep the TX44's from diving and the braid slipping? I've had a few dive running 8-12 oz pump handles. Then I wrap the braid around the clip to prevent slippage.

Thanks!

10/25/20 @ 11:35 AM
JamesD
JamesD
PRO MEMBER User since 2/16/04