LOGIN
Lake-Link

Things they should teach in school

7/19/16 @ 3:03 PM
ORIGNAL POST
fishingmaster1997
fishingmaster1997
User since 4/18/12

I thought this could be fun and interesting thread. 

What are things that you struggle with or have struggled with that you wish they taught in school.

I wish they taught how to open an envelope. As simple as it may seem I can't for life of me open an envelope from the mail box without tearing the thing to shreds.

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 28 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
7/21/16 @ 5:45 AM
boattech
User since 12/22/04

I work for a company that works with GPS Education Partners.  It is a program for high school juniors and seniors that want to go into trades or students that don't like the high school life.  We have been doing this for 6 years now and I am in my 3rd year as one of the mentors for the students.   I can tell you it has been a great experience and we have even hired someone of the kids on full time after graduation.   

7/20/16 @ 9:43 PM
paddler1
paddler1
User since 12/10/14

Wicasa,

Man, you hit it right on the head! Home should be where all learning begins, but sadly that isn't the case in many homes these days. And not just in families that are struggling. Quite the contrary.

From what I've seen, some of the most affluent, are the ones most lacking.

Sad, but true. Teachers truly have their work cut out for them. 

7/20/16 @ 9:30 PM
Dave (Golden)
Dave (Golden)
MEMBER since 6/22/01

I went to Technical Highschool with the full intentions of pursuing an Electrical Apprenticeship. When I graduated I was offered an Apprenticeship and a day later was offered a job working for a very solid company that promised to put me through MSOE as an Electrical Engineer. They held up the part of the deal and also paid for my Masters in Engineering Management at Marquette as well. 38 years later I still work happily for that Company. As it stands I could retire at any point I wish, but I still enjoy my job.