Lake-Link Home
LOGIN
Lake-Link

swallowed hooks

8/1/17 @ 7:33 AM
ORIGNAL POST
philibert
User since 5/18/15

While I was growing up and started my fishing hobby many years ago my fishing mentors always told me if I need to release a fish but it has swallowed the hook I can just cut the line and the fish will survive. Somehow fish have the ability to absorb this hook and it will be absorbed and dissolve. Now this is quite the story but being young I believed these fishermen. Now many years later I am telling this same story to my grandsons and I really do not know the truth and I believe I am just telling them a tall tale. Am I just blowing smoke or is there some truth to this story? I don't want the fish to just starve and eventually die so can anyone shed light on this subject?

Thanks,

Philbert. 

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 20 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
8/17/17 @ 10:15 PM
Bob P.
User since 8/8/07

i've been pinching down the barbs on everything i throw for many years. i'm predominantly a C & R stream smallie chaser. It's saved many fish and myself from damage numerous times. Do i occasionally lose a fish because of it? i like to think it's more often poor technique(mainly hook sets) on my part. Barbs were originally designed to hold bait on a hook. So if you're throwing artificials and lose a few fish, what's the big deal? i know this much, i feel safer both for the fish and myself by going barbless. Not fun to get a crank bait hook stuck in your hand while out walking a stream with no one else around. Barbless to me just means safer fishing, and makes removing all types of hooks far easier, regardless of how they are hooked. Thanks.

Bob P.

8/17/17 @ 9:56 PM
crawdaddy
User since 7/11/01

Had two catfish swallow a circle hook. Reached through full plate and easily came out.

8/15/17 @ 5:33 PM
fishfillet
User since 1/8/13
Years ago the metal quality of hooks was bad and they would rust out.  Today's hooks are better and may not rust out before the fish expires.