LOGIN
Lake-Link

What to look for in a filet knife?

9/25/14 @ 9:02 PM
ORIGNAL POST
rancocasrich
rancocasrich
User since 1/17/10
I am new to Midwest fishing and plan to go after panfish. I need a filet knife. I went to a big-box store and they have about 6 different knives of different sizes. I would like to have a nice knife that I don't replace after a year or so. Advice welcome.

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 17 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
11/30/14 @ 3:05 PM
greg2507
User since 1/13/13
By far leech lake knives are hands down the best. They are pricey but if you clean a lot of fish they sure are worth it.

10/30/14 @ 10:50 PM
river_chaser
User since 10/3/12
Yeah, Ive noticed that jacked up price on Rapala knives too Seems like theyre up 50% over the past 2-3 years so I dont buy anymore Rapala knives.

I did buy a folding Buck fillet knife. Very well made and reasonable price. Stays sharp. Blade is on the stiff side so its almost perfect for deboning venison. Best part is the handle is rubber , non slip.

10/30/14 @ 11:02 AM
PimplySwede
User since 1/6/09
Low end Rapala knives have zoomed up in price - stores around here sell them for $14.

You can still get a deal on the Rapala knives if you buy whatever package suits your needs. They commonly come with eye-popper, forceps, sharpener, line cutter (gawky fingernail clipper), etc....

10/30/14 @ 9:08 AM
drummer boy
drummer boy
User since 3/14/08
I won a rapala fillet knife when I was 14 when I caught the biggest registered crappie in Florence county.That was 45 years ago still have it plus another another 6 or 7 all different lengths,see know reason to buy any other.

10/30/14 @ 5:21 AM
1cast-away
User since 2/2/09
But they sure are pretty. Smile

10/29/14 @ 6:43 PM
frozentoo
User since 7/27/12
Price -vs- quality. Free is best IMO; this one is going-on 5 yrs. & is heavily abused,used/misused and still holds a surgical edge. Free w/a magazine subscription..

10/28/14 @ 10:03 AM
PimplySwede
User since 1/6/09