Lake-Link Home
LOGIN
Lake-Link

Respooling line for Musky

8/31/20 @ 12:15 PM
ORIGINAL POST
Sswpriz
User since 5/8/02

Okay, guys, I have a pretty nice Ambassador casting reel and a heavy Lew's rod that I am going to use for musky fishing, caught one on it in the past, but I want to respool the reel with some line.

I'm thinking about getting some 50# test braid, possibly Googan line.

Would this work for the 6 times a year I go out for muskies ?

Thoughts ????

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 18 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
9/14/20 @ 7:50 PM
prov
prov
User since 12/21/04

80lb power pro 100lb fluro leader for musky and must have mono backing, or you can use a piece of tape.Run 40lb power pro on my bass gear also 20 plus yrs.Anything under 80 with a backlash and kiss your heavy lure & leader goodbye.

9/14/20 @ 11:14 AM
vegas492
vegas492
User since 5/21/03

You used braid as backing?  That's not a wise idea.  If you pull hard enough, that line will dig into itself and cause major slippage and reel manfunction.

And 50# is not ideal.  For the diameter size, you should go heavier.

I only tell you this because I'd like to save you from potential disaster.  And that disaster could be a simple little cink in your line and a backlash that sends your favorite bait into the lake.  Or a fish that rips hard and digs into your reel and causes it to lock.

When you fish muskies, even a little bit, it is best to put those odds in your favor.  Mono backing with 80# braid is kind of a bullet proof approach and eliminates many potential disasters.

You can't control a lot of things when musky fishing.  But you can control your setup and optimize it to your advantage.

9/13/20 @ 5:26 PM
Sswpriz
User since 5/8/02