Lake-Link Home
LOGIN
Lake-Link

Pointer pup

6/27/16 @ 6:25 PM
ORIGNAL POST
Crims
User since 6/27/16

ok  I'm sure this has come up before but here goes.

1.Will  playing fetch with a real dead bird take the point out of him.

2. Should I allow him to flash point,creep and chase robins at the park (sight pointing)

3 1/2 month DD 

thanks in advance 

DISPLAYING 1 TO 10 OF 10 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
12/16/16 @ 3:26 PM
Crims
User since 6/27/16
That's my boy

9/18/16 @ 4:34 PM
Landin' Lunkers
User since 6/4/12

Lund guy... again I'm no pro. But I have worked with several trainers on a rescue pointer lab pup mix that I  got when he was born. All of them said that sit, stay, recalls need to be very well instilled before the whole hunt training starts. If you have a dog that won't come back to you or stay it's probably gonna b a waste of time with the rest. I found some tricks to help get retrieving and holding bird/dummy to hand. Also how to get them finding it and on scent. I live in waukesha and can maybe help you. P.M. me if your wanting advice.

This was our first successful hunt since I had him and his first time out where my sub par shooting skills didn't fail me.

8/18/16 @ 12:25 PM
fishmunkee
fishmunkee
User since 3/20/02

Lundguy2 - Start yesterday and hook up with the nearest NAVHDA chapter.

Best of luck with the new pup!

8/17/16 @ 1:14 PM
Lundguy2
User since 4/22/15

We just got a short hair pup last weekend, she is 11 weeks and is our first "gun" dog.  I don't do much waterfowl hunting but more upland, grouse and pheasant and hope to use her for that.  Any tips on when and where to start?

8/1/16 @ 6:09 PM
tstoeger
Troy Stoeger
User since 4/2/02

I just had a question, Crims.... Where did you get your dog? Seems to be a shortage of quality DD breeders. Eventually I'd like one now that my old boy getting up there in years. The one I found that I really like is in Utah. Would like to stay closer but will travel that far if I have to when the time comes. Thanks!