LOGIN
Lake-Link

The Making of a Mechanic..!!

3/4/15 @ 1:22 AM
ORIGNAL POST
Big River Dude
Big River Dude
User since 4/27/11
Hello my fellow Lake-Linkers, I'm reaching out to see if my fellow fishermen and mechanics would put their CandyCane Crush and Farmville games on hold to start a new and productive game called: The Making of a Mechanic. The objectives of the game is to lead a Nice Polish Guy in a step by step overhaul of a 1993 Mercury 50 hp outboard before the Spring Walleye Run. The challenge is, I'm a Carpenter, not a mechanic. I REALLY need some help with this task. I somehow killed killed the compression on one of my cylinders. I will be getting an entire kit, and also found someone to bore/hone it, but I don't have a clue as to where to start. ANY HELP would be GREAT..!!! Thanks in advance..!! Jim P.

DISPLAYING 1 TO 7 OF 7 POSTS
FILTER OPTIONS
3/8/15 @ 8:46 PM
Big River Dude
Big River Dude
User since 4/27/11
Thank you guys for all the information so far. The manual is on it's way. Yes sir Grandad, you hit the nail on the head.!! Found out, after the fact that the motor was run full throttle for approximately one hr. while the alarm was going off. Then the next time I had it out, they said it probably was the carburetor and was reviving the crap out of it, without my knowledge. NEVER trust ANYONE with my boat AGAIN...!!! But I Will take on the task, because I can't afford new, and have a hard time trusting used. To have someone else do it will cost more than it's worth. A couple of fellow Lake-Linkers will assist once I take it apart and see what the pistons and cylinders look like. I would have put my 1998 9.9 hp. Force to get me by, but it was STOLEN from my basement in Milwaukee and might have ended up around the Dells area. The kids name is Nick and his parents live in the Dells area. Any help would be great. Thanks again guys for the help in helping along with this rebuild. Jim P

3/8/15 @ 4:43 PM
GRANDAD
User since 6/1/09