SEARCH
MORE
Boats & Motors

Tell me what I did wrong...

11/23/20 @ 12:59 PM
INITIAL POST
mikieb
User since 10/11/15

I have been shopping for a boat for a few months. 

Finally, I inked a deal on a Alumacraft 165 tiller with a 50hp Evinrude sitting on a roller trailer. 

The only fear I have is...  the motor is so big that I will not be able to troll with it, because it will just push the boat too fast,  even at a idle. 

I need to buy a bow mount electric and a new sonar unit for the back if you have any suggestions

Displaying 1 to 15 of 20 posts
12/13/20 @ 3:26 PM
MileMark_714
MileMark_714
User since 12/26/10

5 gallon buckets work great,add a second rope to bottom of bucket to make retrieval easier.Idling for long periods probably won't really affect an E-TEC,but can be a problem for 4-stroke outboards(fuel/oil dilution).Much more so in cold weather,unless you have a hotter thermostat. 

12/12/20 @ 10:18 PM
One shot one kill
User since 8/12/02

I'd have to ask my wife . She does it for me constantly  !

12/12/20 @ 1:46 PM
JamesD
JamesD
PRO MEMBER User since 2/16/04

Nobody has mentioned back trolling. Everyone wants you to spend more money and add a bunch of heavy and expensive electronics. My old boss dropped a couple of plastic buckets on ropes over the sides of his boat.

11/25/20 @ 9:39 AM
vegas492
vegas492
User since 5/21/03

Naw, you did nothing wrong.  All you need is a good bow mount trolling motor in front.  Get an Ulterra, link it with a good Humminbird graph.  Now you can stow and deploy with a push of a button.  Get a 24 volt system.  If you want to go .5 to probably 2.8 or 3.0 that trolling motor will be perfect.  And...if you want to troll with the big motor, simply turn the head on the trolling motor towards you to slow it down some.

11/24/20 @ 11:07 AM
Highthrust
PRO MEMBER User since 1/21/13

The motor has Touch troll on the tiller. You can lower the idle rpm. It will shake the boat more when you slow the engine. Give it a try.