SEARCH
MORE
Boats & Motors

Engine dies out when loading boat onto trailer

4/30/21 @ 1:34 PM
INITIAL POST
GotABite
User since 8/7/07

My 1992 60 hp mercury 2 stroke runs like a champ on the water for its age. The engine fires up on the first turn of the key every time and runs great all day but my last 3 times out only when I load the boat onto the trailer she dies out, almost like when the engine feels resistance. I then start the engine up again and give her gas and she quits again making me jump out of the boat and into the water and use the winch the rest of the way. Anyone ever come across this problem or know why this is happening. This never was an issue before. Thanks 

Displaying 16 to 30 of 32 posts
5/2/21 @ 7:52 PM
GotABite
User since 8/7/07

2014ranger+115 , thanks for your detailed response. Appreciate the help! 

5/2/21 @ 3:32 PM
2014ranger+115
User since 8/7/17

Your problem appears to be fuel related.  As a mechanic, I would suggest you either have bad fuel from not being stabilized or water in the system caused by condensation.  You may have to drain all your fuel or use it up and then drain the rest.  Get it all out.  You may be wise to fuel to put a fuel/water seperator inline.  It looks like a remote oil filter but designed to catch water.  It can be drained and used again, but shouldnt as a fuel leak can develop.  Drain your carbs.  The screw on the bottom of them will do that.  Try a small gas tank with fresh gas to confirm.  In fall I drain all fuel and put it in my vehicles.  Put in fresh fuel with a  double dose of marine Stabile.  Fill the tank all the way up to prevent condensation.  Run the motor with this fuel, prefereably on the water so the fuel reaches all parts of the carbs or injectors.  Your fuel system will now have fresh gas when you fire it up in the spring.  You can skip the seperator if you get all the water out.  You may have to drain the carbs or fuel system a couple times.  You need to start fresh and then nip it in the bu