MORE
Boats & Motors

Boat Help

10/21/20 @ 5:08 PM
INITIAL POST
I Wire Em
User since 7/19/01

Greetings,

Purchased a used boat in July . Went for a test run,been sitting since.

( no Time ) Can I store for winter in ( non heated garage ) without winterizing ? Can I do the following things:

1)  Lower motors and let drain  ( 90hp evinrude 2 stroke 96 yr)

9.9 nissan 4 stroke 

2) Refill in spring

3) Add fuel stabilize ( what is a good one)

4)  Can i leave batteries 3  and put charger on a timer for 4 hrs a day

Any other tips would be Great also leave cover on or off ??

Thanks in Advance !!!!

<*((()))<>

Displaying 1 to 13 of 13 posts
10/26/20 @ 8:24 AM
Brent Hess
Brent Hess
PRO MEMBER User since 12/18/07

Some guys run RV antifreeze through their bildge pump, live well, and bait well...

I’ve never done that before, and have not had any issues, however it certainly can’t hurt anything, and may help...

10/25/20 @ 8:08 PM
Tuffy2
User since 7/7/04

I’ve had many different brands of boats over the years, yes even Rangers. I winterized the Ranger just like a Mirrocraft.

I have never taken my batteries out of a boat, ever. Charge them fully, top them off with distilled water and charge again, disconnect the cables and leave them in the boat.

10/25/20 @ 6:26 PM
mattw
mattw
PRO MEMBER User since 5/6/16

Question, what's up with the RV antifreeze ?  I have been doing my old 15ft a certain way for years and it's been good , but now because I have ,my ranger which is a lot newer , I wonder if I am doing enough, I fog motor since I still have a 2 stroke on the back, will change lower unit and refill before I take it to storage,  I cant plug onboard charger in since boats off site , I use to take batteries out of old boat and store inside,  I might do that again with this one since I now have three batteries.  Your thoughts on the antifreeze ? 

10/24/20 @ 9:37 AM
Brent Hess
Brent Hess
PRO MEMBER User since 12/18/07

For me: