MORE
ATVs

Battery tender/charger

9/8/23 @ 4:51 PM
INITIAL POST
eyesman
eyesman
User since 1/7/02

I have a Bombardier Outlander 400 that I  want to add a battery tender/charger to. The battery location is such that you can’t use alligator clips to put a regular charger on. It is an ordeal to even remove it. I’ve looked at a few tenders and some come with a wire that has eyelets to attach to the battery, a fuse and quick connect plug to attach to the tender unit. I can zip tie that lead and make it easily accessible for use. Any brands that I should try or brands to avoid. Most all I’ve seen are fully automatic and can be left on for extended periods of time. 

Battery tender/charger photo by eyesman
Displaying 1 to 11 of 11 posts
9/24/23 @ 5:04 AM
Sylvain Guy
PRO MEMBER User since 7/6/01
Second the battery tender junior
9/17/23 @ 7:31 PM
EYE_SKI
EYE_SKI
User since 3/26/19
Battery Tender Jr.   easy peasy!        $39.99 fleet farm
9/12/23 @ 6:37 PM
eyesman
eyesman
User since 1/7/02
Ordered a Noco Genius 1 amp maintainer/charger. Should have it in a few days and installed shortly thereafter. 
9/10/23 @ 9:32 AM
Mendota Jim
User since 7/1/02
To be clear, an AGM battery is a SLA or sealed lead acid battery.

Quote:
AGM (Absorbed Glass Mat) refers to a specific type of SLA/VRLA where the electrolyte is absorbed into separators between the plates consisting of sponge like fine glass fiber mats. SLA batteries are divided up into specific subsets of batteries.

I've been an ATV mechanic since the early eighties so if you have a dependable modern battery charger, you can leave it attached 24/7 365 but there isn't any real benefit compared to periodic charging.  Batteries by nature are design to store electrical energy.
9/10/23 @ 7:29 AM
eyesman
eyesman
User since 1/7/02