SEARCH
MORE
Archery

Cell trail camera

9/26/20 @ 6:24 PM
INITIAL POST
Bugeye1
User since 9/25/14

Can anybody tell me if there is a cell trail camera that would work with us cellular?  I have no experience with these but every time I look into buying one its always a Verizon plan. Any help would be appreciated on how i could make it work with us cellular would be great! Thanks

Displaying 1 to 9 of 9 posts
10/24/20 @ 7:16 AM
Patrick Thomas
User since 11/14/17

I may be wrong, but many times when I'm in wooded areas I lose cellular signal strength.  If there are tall trees in front of your camera it could very well obstruct the signal the camera is sending to the tower. Another variable is weather.  If it is hazy, rainy cell signal strength is limited.  While it merely tests "Wifi" speed, do a "speedtest" on your phone & that will tell you if your Wi-Fi speed is the same as in an open area.  You'll have to turn off "cellular data" in your settings before you do the speed test.  It only takes a few minutes & it might save you a lot of thinking.  These cameras sure have come a long way with image quality, etc, however the cellular devices are only as good as the cellular tech inside of it, as well as whomever service you use, plus what I described above.  I hope this helps...someone.  Good Luck.  Try to get out in the next 6-12 days. I live in SE WI & the bachelor groups definitely have broken up other than the yearlings & there is quite a bit of sparing.  I amazingly witness a doe jump up to kick at a buck, as her fawn was near so she was either protecting her " baby" or she wasn't in the mood:)

10/23/20 @ 8:57 PM
WelderGuy
WelderGuy
User since 12/19/10

Finally got a reply from Moultrie, it took 3 emails and 4 days but they sent me a shipping label and said to return the camera. Once I ship it they will send me a new one. We’ll see how the second one works. Really wanted to have this out during the rut, don’t look like that will happen now. 

10/19/20 @ 12:05 PM