SEARCH
MORE
Upland/Small Game

Dove Hunting

8/18/14 @ 12:38 PM
INITIAL POST
aschenck
User since 8/18/14
Hey Everyone, I was just wondering if any of you have any information on the activity of the dove fields/public hunting land within an hour and a half of Madison. I am a UW Madison student and absolutely love dove hunting, but due to being a student I don't have much time for scouting. Thought I could help save some time by only checking out the fields that have been reported to have doves. Any info on fields you've had success at would be very much appreciated. Thanks!
Displaying 1 to 15 of 61 posts
9/10/16 @ 2:58 PM
Birdyboy
Birdyboy
User since 8/24/07

Well.  Today was officially my worst day dove hunting ever.  The morning started out promising.  Nice cloud cover and temps in the mid 60's with just a little breeze.  Only one other guy in the field and he was three hundred yards away. Got to set up in one of my "can't miss" spots in the sunflowers. Put out my three Mojo's and my stationary decoys.  Loaded the 20ga and waited for the sun to come up and the birds to fly in.  I waited and waited and nothing. Not a shot from the other end of the field or a dove flying in to eat.   Nothing.  I hung in there for three hours and saw only two doves way out.  Then the rain, that they said wasn't coming, came.  I checked the weather forecast and it said no rain in the area.  The radar told a wildly different story.  A pretty major storm rushed in with driving rains and big winds.  I was a mile from the truck so I pulled my hood up determined to wait it out.  I finally gave up when the radar showed the storm moving in a circle right over my location.  Soaked to the skin with a bag full of wet gear and no birds to show for it, I trudged the trails back to my truck and drove home soggy for an hour.  I'm probably going to give it another go before the doves move out.  Had a great day last week in the exact same spot.  The doves defeated me today.

9/9/16 @ 3:37 PM