MORE
Pike Fishing

First Pike in years

11/4/21 @ 1:49 PM
INITIAL POST
ol sarge
ol sarge
User since 3/8/04

Went out last weekend and was trolling a chatter bait looking for crappie. The first one hit and took awhile to get in. He was over 36 inches ( the tape on my boat only goes to 36 and he was way over that). I took a photo and let him go and trolled a bit longer when the second one hit. Very good fight. He too was over 36 inches. I have been fishing for almost 50 years and these are the biggest fish I have ever caught. I am a big bobber fisherman so I usually just catch panfish and bass. I am kind of hooked on these toothy critters.

First Pike in years photo by ol sarge
Displaying 1 to 12 of 12 posts
12/3/21 @ 10:27 AM
Fishrun
Fishrun
User since 6/8/20

I bring the fly rod to Canada too. Same flies that catch smallies will catch pike and musky. Big flies work but not necessary. I've caught musky up there on 4" bubble gum pink wacky worms while fishing for bass.

12/3/21 @ 9:09 AM
Carpio
Carpio
PRO MEMBER User since 11/5/17

fun on a fly rod!     I fished smallies in Canada with one, a blast! CARPIO 

12/2/21 @ 9:13 PM
Fishrun
Fishrun
User since 6/8/20

I catch them on minnow patterns 3" long. The last three I cleaned had a rock bass 6" to 8" long.

Caught five today. Big one was 34". 

Something to do while waiting for safe ice. Maybe another week or two around here.

First Pike in years photo by Fishrun
12/2/21 @ 10:12 AM
Carpio
Carpio
PRO MEMBER User since 11/5/17

I find they are pests.   They destroy my rigs while crappie fishing and chase the panfish from the area.     Why in the world would a well fed and healthy pike we’ll over 30” bite a 1” fat head ?     This is a common occurrence with me in the fall and happens about once every 4-5 outings.   I believe they just like to kill and agree about the eating quality.   Again, they’re like squirrels,pests.      CARPIO 

11/10/21 @ 5:05 PM
Fishrun
Fishrun
User since 6/8/20