SEARCH
MORE
General Fishing Discussion

OPINIONS

9/14/14 @ 12:04 PM
INITIAL POST
500sp
User since 4/4/10
plan on purchasing a good spinning reel any suggestions on brand and etc thanks guys for your opinions
Displaying 1 to 15 of 23 posts
10/13/14 @ 8:28 PM
Troy Stoeger
Troy Stoeger
User since 4/2/02
Mid level Daiwa stuff is as nice as anything in their respective price range. I like the Lexa a lot.
10/13/14 @ 12:33 PM
Tommy Howell
User since 7/11/11
I've been running Abu Garcia's Revo's for a couple years now, and consider them as good as anything on the market. They've held up flawlessly. They are extremely smooth, anti-reverse is in the right spot to reach if you want to back reel while fighting a fish, and the line comes off the bail perfectly when casting.
10/11/14 @ 10:05 PM
John.Rennpferd
User since 6/3/10
I hear good things about Pflueger Presidentials; I have also heard good things about Ardent supposedly having good spinning reels but they might be a pro only thing; never used either though. I have a handful of Shimanos, Shakespeares, and Mitchells and a few other random Pure Fishing brands of reels. All good reels for the price range that I have been able to purchase over the years. The bails close nicer on Shimanos if you don't manually close your bail; otherwise I personally like Mitchells better, my go to is the Mitchell 308 pro. Definitely go with the pro line if you go Mitchell, they just feel better.
10/5/14 @ 12:58 PM
Brian Hammarsten
Brian Hammarsten
User since 4/5/10
I agree with the Plueger Presidential. Great reel and a good price.
9/19/14 @ 6:28 AM
frozentoo
User since 7/27/12
PENN !! I've had a Slammer 360 and absolutely zero problems; other than fair wear & tear. They're a bit on the heavier side but worth every ounce IMO.
9/18/14 @ 2:11 PM
ThreeFiftySeven
ThreeFiftySeven
User since 3/14/03