SEARCH
MORE
Big Game Hunting

2014 Elk Hunt

12/28/13 @ 4:57 PM
INITIAL POST
dc cady
User since 3/10/07
Getting real close to application time for the 2014 elk hunt. My brother and I have max points for Wyoming this year and plan on going on our 1st ever elk and guided hunt. We will be hunting in area 7 and hope our outfitter continues his string of success with us. Anyone else have plans? Also would like to hear stories of 2013 hunts.
Displaying 1 to 15 of 28 posts
12/1/14 @ 8:07 PM
oppyjr79
User since 12/18/11
First year living in Montana second weekend of gun season. This is my first year elk hunting im happy with this one for not really knowing how to elk hunt.
11/29/14 @ 9:21 PM
antler junkie
User since 8/17/05
Beautiful bull Elk beelzebob. I' m jealous man,I'd love to go on a hunt like that.Congratulations, you also got some mighty fine eating coming your way.
11/29/14 @ 7:47 PM
beelzebob
User since 9/24/01
I drew unit 45 south of Ten Sleep WY, had max points. Paid 5k to access a great ranch, as with other places I've hunted in WY, it is a night and day difference when you get on good ground. For 3 days I was watching a herd between 4 and 5 hundred, that's right - hundred animals. There was an early rut (I'm told) and so the biggest bulls had peeled out. I ended up with a nice 6x6, the largest of dozens that I saw. My best advice: do what you have to do to put the money aside so that when you pull that tag it is you that is on the good ground. Make it happen.
2014 Elk Hunt photo by beelzebob
9/26/14 @ 12:58 PM
adubs
User since 12/4/06