Questions about deer

9/3/15 @ 6:33 PM
ORIGINAL POST
FISH-EM
FISH-EM
USER since 5/12/09
I am actually new to hunting. I have done it before but have never actually bagged one. So my question is when you shoot him and field dress him how much time do you have to process the meat with the temps that they are. Then my next question is since I don't know how to even field dress a deer what places are good to bring the deer to get processed. I know the questions seem kind of dumb but I just want to know my options. Thanks
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 6 of 6 Posts
4/6/16 @ 10:43 AM
hoff
hoff
USER since 6/21/11
Step 1. Buy a butt-out. It is a magnificent little tool.I will never walk them deer woods without mine.

I bowhunt and if its warm, I have my big huge cooler. I will skin my deer and quarter it, Put quarters in trash bags and throw on ice in the cooler. Trim all the backstraps, inners, scrap out and put in bags in cooler. Now you bought yourself time to the tune of a day or two easy. Go home and butcher at your kitchen table where its warm and comfy.

Butcher it yourself is my suggestion. It is cheap and easy, a valuable skill to learn. All you need is a rope and spot to hang the deer, some cardboard, and a good sharp buck knife. A table helps. Fillet knife is good to have as well. Trash bags, freezer paper (or food saver I highly recommend a food saver), tape and a grill for them fresh inners yummy yummy tenderloin. What were we talking about? Oh yeah Lol. and get a sharpie. I like to write the sex, age, year killed, and cut of meat on each pack. (example: 2104 doe fawn backstrap) Sawzall is handy but not required.

Post Your Comment
9/5/15 @ 8:54 AM
FISH-EM
FISH-EM
USER since 5/12/09
I live in Kimberly and ill be trying to hunt the public land out past the Appleton air port. I really thank you guys for taking the time to explain all this to me. Good luck to you guys if you go!

Post Your Comment
9/4/15 @ 12:22 PM
perchthriller
perchthriller
USER since 7/14/09