MORE
Wisconsin Hunting Reports/Discussion

bow hunting through gun seasons

10/13/18 @ 6:58 PM
INITIAL POST
FISH-EM
FISH-EM
User since 5/12/09
Can you bow hunt during the disability gun hunting season and if so do you have to wear blaze orange until its over with? I am new to hunting and trying to understand all rules so I don't do anything illegal. Thanks for any help. 
Displaying 1 to 9 of 9 posts
11/16/18 @ 11:54 AM
Mr.Jiggers
Mr.Jiggers
User since 1/3/10

This is right from the 2018 Deer Hunting Regulations. PAGE 11

I read it as blaze orange MUST be worn at all times when hunting.

Highly Visible Clothing Requirement

• When and where a firearm deer season (listed on page 8) is in progress, no person may hunt any game, except waterfowl, unless at least 50% of their outer clothing above the waist is colored blaze orange or fluorescent pink. A hat or other head covering, if worn, must be at least 50% blaze orange or fluorescent pink. Faded or stained blaze orange or fluorescent pink clothing is unsafe and may not meet law requirements. Although not as visible, camo-blaze is legal if 50% of the material is blaze orange or fluorescent pink. The DNR recommends 100% solid blaze orange or fluorescent pink. 

Note: Highly visible clothing requirements do not apply to those hunters participating in legal night hunting (e.g., raccoon) from ½ hour after sunset to ½ hour before sunrise.

11/16/18 @ 11:52 AM
Mr.Jiggers
Mr.Jiggers
User since 1/3/10

Took this snapshot right from the 2018 Deer Hunting Regulations.

I read it as blaze orange MUST be worn at all times when hunting.

11/16/18 @ 11:23 AM
ere
User since 2/22/07

Where do you read that in the regs about taking your orange off once in the stand. 

11/16/18 @ 10:08 AM
hockeyguy39
User since 8/24/07

Pretty sure it's 50% of upper body in orange the entire time you're hunting. No way would I not want to be noticed by another hunter with a gun. 

11/16/18 @ 10:04 AM
fuzzyfishin
User since 3/26/07