SEARCH
MORE
Walleye Fishing

Trolling for eyes? Leaders?

12/2/18 @ 7:36 PM
INITIAL POST
tool
User since 6/3/04

Hey guys...  I’m new to trolling for Walleyes, but just wondering if you guys typically use leaders trolling cranks for them?  I was just thinking I would probably get sawed off from pike or muskie if I don’t use leaders.  

So if you do, what exacty, Fluro?  What lb?

Thoughts?

Displaying 1 to 9 of 9 posts
1/4/19 @ 10:11 AM
JamesD
JamesD
PRO MEMBER User since 2/16/04

" Is the water clear or murky?" seems to be the big question. I fish the murky waters of Green Bay like b.Trout and have a snap tied directly to some skinny 12# fireline for the diving plugs I fish with. I have a second set up that I tie on 10# flouro leader directly to the poly line using the Albright knot so I can jig vertical baits, where the fish have more time to scrutinize things. So trolling for eyes no.... jigging for eyes, yes. Note: All the spinner rigs for harnesses, I tie with flourocarbon.

12/18/18 @ 8:12 AM
drummer boy
drummer boy
User since 3/14/08

I also use 12# biggame,but if i am loosing cranks I will use 10# tyable wire.

12/17/18 @ 11:27 PM
haf2fsh
PRO MEMBER User since 6/23/01

I run Stren Gold 12 lb, use spider wire 10 lb. as leader line, cuts my break offs in half. Do all my trolling on  Koshkonong  the 5 ft. no structure dishpan. 

12/4/18 @ 3:48 PM
BugleTrout
BugleTrout
User since 9/27/01

The Big Game #12 lb is the same diameter as #10 XT.  I go with that because that's what the Precision Trolling App leads/depths are based on.  Either is fine.

Bite-offs are unfortunate but do happen.  Fluoro may help a bit if there are enough toothy critters around to be of concern but I don't think I'd run anything over #10-12lb.  Grab a bunch of Flicker Shads and Husky Jerks (when on sale).  Those won't break the bank like some baits on the market (Live Target) if they get bit off.

12/4/18 @ 1:55 PM
fishmunkee
fishmunkee
User since 3/20/02