SEARCH
MORE
Recipies & Cooking

Tips for cooking your catch

5/15/18 @ 12:05 PM
INITIAL POST
averageangler
User since 4/18/16

I am a pretty good cook and love to fish but I have never prepared anything I've caught.  This season I'd like to try my hand at frying up some of the bass/walleye/crappie/pike (yes I know about the Y bones) that I catch.  

My question doesn't relate to the recipe.  I am wondering what is the best way to get my fish from the water to the cutting board?  I have heard differing opinions about ice, stringers, livewells and how to dispatch the fish.  Any suggestions/resources would be much appreciated!

Displaying 1 to 7 of 7 posts
5/16/18 @ 11:47 AM
PimplySwede
User since 1/6/09

If you have a cooler of ice with you - clip gills, toss in livewell or basket until they bleed out, then put on ice.

If you have a cooler of ice in the truck - keep the fish fresh in livewell, clip gills about 10 minutes before you are done fishing, put on ice back at the dock.

Not only does it keep the meat fresh, but you don't have flopping fish on the cutting board.

Not sure where you are, but Wisconsin law is livewells must be drained before leaving the launch.

5/16/18 @ 1:54 AM
h2ofowlmedic
User since 9/7/08

If I am keeping fish they go directly on ice.

5/15/18 @ 1:38 PM
BugleTrout
BugleTrout
User since 9/27/01

You can do that but it just makes a big mess.  I run my live well pump the whole drive to the dock to flush the blood out.  If I don't, the blood coagulates and plugs my drain line.

5/15/18 @ 1:03 PM
averageangler
User since 4/18/16

Clip their gills before tossing into the ice or no?  

5/15/18 @ 12:58 PM
fishmunkee
fishmunkee
User since 3/20/02

Fish that are being kept go right into a cooler with ice. Might use the live well when water is colder early season.

5/15/18 @ 12:15 PM
BugleTrout
BugleTrout
User since 9/27/01