smoking questions

8/21/11 @ 8:17 PM
ORIGINAL POST
TKfishes
TKfishes
USER since 8/23/09
I love smoked trout and salmon....just wondering if it would turn out ok if I used some from the freezer to smoke? Any other questions would be great im new to smoking and any info would be useful

Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 10 of 33 Posts
7/8/14 @ 10:46 AM
jiffysteve
jiffysteve
USER since 1/14/08
trout and salmon smoke well coming from the freezer, I do it all the time. 1 cup of canning salt,one gallon of water and you can add anything like garlic powder onion powder, brown sugar etc. to your liking. I brine for at least 24 hrs. you can cut back on the salt by a tablespoon or two if too salty experiment with it.

Post Your Comment
7/4/14 @ 8:54 AM
lazyfishr
lazyfishr
USER since 5/29/06
The experiment was a success. 1 inch slabs of solid smoke ring and nice bark. Unfortunately I don't think I will be mixing it in with the meat. The wife put my rub together and instead of chili powder used red pepper flakes..... it's a pretty spicy. If it was just for us it would be fine but I'm feeding a crowd so will keep it a little more tame.

Post Your Comment
7/3/14 @ 11:50 AM
lazyfishr
lazyfishr
USER since 5/29/06
Anyone ever cut some pieces off a roast, rub them and then smoke them for some more bark?. The bark/burnt ends are by far the best part of the roast but the picnics I've been doing just don't seem to have enough surface for the size of the roast.

I cut 4 1 inch slabs that I am smoking until they have a good bark on them. I will then add them to the final shredded meat. Looking for an intense smoke flavor this time around.

Post Your Comment
4/1/14 @ 10:54 PM
Lectrotech
Lectrotech
USER since 11/19/09