Trolling depth charts for Musky Lures

9/24/14 @ 8:12 PM
ORIGINAL POST
shawn114
shawn114
USER since 9/30/13
I am new to trolling for musky on Green Bay, I have a number of crank baits and bucktails but have no idea how many feet back to run them from the boards. I there a rule of thumb to the cranks? and for bucktails would I use a keel weight and bury the rod in the water? Any help would be awesome. Thanx, Shawn
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 8 of 8 Posts
5/31/15 @ 5:54 PM
Walter Krause
Windmill99
USER since 5/22/15
There are couple of good lure / depth / line out books. The first addition iof musky mikes trolling secrets is out of print but the second addition is sold through drifter tackle. It is a very good book with all the common Muskie lures. The first addition has a couple lures that are not in the first addition and the second addition has lures that are not in the first. I have both and it is very helpful in positioning your lures to the depth of the bait fish.

Walter's Fishing Guide Service
(618) 972-5584
Post Your Comment
10/2/14 @ 1:52 AM
Trophy_Taker
Trophy_Taker
USER since 4/27/08
Super Shad Rap

30lb mono plus leader length...17ft to get down 2ft 36ft to get down 4ft 60ft to get down 6ft

Get Mike's Trolling book, helps out a lot with depth curves. Worth the money, I bought the electronic version for my iphone 5.

Post Your Comment
9/25/14 @ 7:34 PM
shawn114
shawn114
USER since 9/30/13
Thank Musky Nut for the insight, sorry my post was very vague, I was needing help with the Rapala super shad rap SSR-14, storm dbl jointed crank, and shallow raiders, and depth raider. was hoping there was some depth curves to these style lures. I did some research on bucktails watching some videos trolling the bay so that helped. Is there any videos or youtube videos that anyone knows about that I should watch and research?

Thank You for any help,

Shawn

Post Your Comment
9/25/14 @ 1:38 PM
vegas492
vegas492
USER since 5/21/03