MORE
Musky Fishing

Beginner Musky Rod/Reel Set Up

9/25/18 @ 10:03 AM
INITIAL POST
Merrimic91
User since 6/25/07

Hi All,

I am a beginner musky fisherman looking to set up my gear correctly. What would you recommend for rod length, power, action? What are the best reasonably priced reels out there that many of you use? I hear Abu Garcia Ambassedeur is decent, thoughts? I intend to run 100lb braid, do you typically use a fluoro leader or can I use straight braid? 

Based on your experience, what are the must have lures to purchase immediately without breaking the bank as I get deeper into the sport?

Thanks again for your feedback!

MM

Displaying 1 to 15 of 15 posts
3/10/19 @ 11:44 PM
Musky Jim1
Musky Jim1
User since 4/3/18

Negative on the spinning reel setup.. All pros use baitcasting and I say all. Don't be lazy

2/4/19 @ 3:45 PM
vegas492
vegas492
User since 5/21/03

You are inviting disaster if you go with a traditional spinning rod setup for muskies.  Maybe there are some salt water spinning setups that work, but muskies are just different.

Muskies eat boatside.  They put a lot of stress on the rod/reel.  The fight is usually over in a minute or so.  It is violent and it is sudden.

Get a true musky rod and reel.  It is worth it.  Many of them (rods and reels) can be used for multiple lures.  But the more you get into this, the more you will find that certain rods and reels work better for different lures and applications.

Start off with at least an 8 foot rod.  Tackle Industries.  Shimano.  Okuma.  All good rods that don't break the bank.  Get a good reel, as the drag is very important.  Shimano 400B (bulletproof).

Get a good setup, grab some bucktails, topwaters, cranks and rubber baits and you should be good to go.  And prepared when the big bite happens.

You can find a lot of these things used at great prices.  

2/1/19 @ 10:28 PM
Lkittle97
User since 5/30/18