MORE
Ice Fishing

*** What is the best Pop-Up ***

2/18/16 @ 7:28 PM
INITIAL POST
Clam89
Clam89
User since 12/16/15
I have a Clam Nanook, but thinking of getting a pop-up one as well for when I have a few people fishing with me. I want something that 3-4 guys can fit in comfortably. Something like the picture I posted, open to Clam, Eskimo, etc. Any recommendations? I would like to be able to stand up in it as well, I'm 6' Thanks in advance!!
Displaying 1 to 12 of 12 posts
12/14/18 @ 8:49 PM
AWichman
AWichman
User since 1/6/16

Otter would be my first choice because they are proven year after year to be the most durable and they put a lot of thought into the design. My second would be the Eskimo hubs. I may be biased because I’ve been running Otter now for about 20 years and really only upgrade because I find my needs changing or in some cases the thermal was too good to not go to. The Eskimo shacks have really stepped their game up. I’ve fished out of them a few times and can’t really say anything negative about them. They are really well made. The one I would avoid is Clam, they make too many models now and the quality has dropped over the last few years in my opinion. 

12/14/18 @ 5:02 PM
the_dude
the_dude
User since 1/10/03

I have the Shappell Wide House 6500 and I love it.  When I shopped around before I got mine several years ago, I felt that the Shappell had the thickest, highest quality shell.  They use 600-denier polyester.  Eskimo and others use 300-denier.  The window locations on Clams are terrible if you are tip up fishing.  They are two high when sitting and two low when you stand.  And the Shappell was the cheapest when I bought and I think it is slightly bigger than the 949.

12/14/18 @ 3:32 PM
vegas492
vegas492
User since 5/21/03

I have an Eskimo 949i.  Upgraded from the 747i version.  I haven't used it yet, but I can say this...if you are getting a pop up, get the insulated one.  You will stay much warmer and drier.