Repairing dinged wood stock?

12/11/14 @ 1:12 PM
ORIGINAL POST
jch84
jch84
USER since 8/4/08
So, I let a good friend of mine borrow a rifle. Long story short, he put a series of dings/dents, I guess you could call them, in the stock where it was apparently rubbing on his treestand when he was walking. It's hard to get upset about because I could see how bad he felt about it. Lesson learned for me I suppose. It's a newer rifle; would anyone attempt to fix these imperfections or would it be more trouble than it's worth? It's not scratched, and I don't see it causing any other issues aside from reminding me not to lend expensive items in the future.
Edited on 12/11/14 1:12 PM
Post Your Comment
Displaying 1 to 9 of 9 Posts
12/20/14 @ 10:53 AM
JimLi
JimLi
USER since 12/20/11
If the scratches aren't too deep, use a rag and steam iron. Sometimes the steam will draw out the dent/scratch.

Post Your Comment
12/16/14 @ 7:34 PM
ShootCatchEat
ShootCatchEat
USER since 11/4/11
Im a professional wood restorer and if steaming doesnt get them out it needs to be Burned in/ filled and possibly top coated. If you really want it fixed shoot me an email.

Post Your Comment
12/14/14 @ 10:01 PM
ditto
ditto
USER since 12/6/10
Only until the towel is dry. The times I've done this it was a slow process, don't expect it all to come out in one or two tries. If you're seeing some improvement then I would just keep doing it.

Post Your Comment
12/14/14 @ 8:33 PM
jch84
jch84
USER since 8/4/08
How long would you guys recommend leaving the iron on there? I let it steam about 30 seconds at a time for about 6-7 times and I'm definitely noticing some difference! Wanted to let it sit awhile and try again.

Post Your Comment
12/12/14 @ 6:10 PM
BeerTownFyreman
BeerTownFyreman
USER since 6/15/01
That's what was done on mine with great results

Post Your Comment
12/12/14 @ 2:06 PM
marinerman
marinerman
USER since 6/27/01